The boundary stretches from Brixham to Bigbury along the coastline and goes North to Dartmeet on Dartmoor. Geographically, it is one of the largest English constituencies with a scattered village population outside the main towns. It has four towns of more than 5,000 population – Brixham, Totnes, Dartmouth and Kingsbridge, and has a total electorate of 69,000. It is served by two major dual-carriageway road – the A38 which runs along the Southern edge of the Moor, and by the mainline railway from Paddington to Penzance and the much anticipated South Devon Link Road.

The River Dart divides the Constituency roughly into two sections - urban to the East and rural to the West, and the North-West area is moorland. Most of the coastline is either owned by The National Trust, or is in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The Moor is a National Park.

Brixham is the largest fish landing port in England, and fishing, farming and tourism are the most important industries in the area.

By comparison with the average figures for the South West, the Constituency has a higher number of retired people and a higher percentage of unemployed and self-employed people. The average wage is less than the national average.

The new constituency is made up of chunks of the South Hams District Council and Torbay Unitary Authority - all within Devon County. Below is a list of wards covered:

South Hams District Council:
Allington and Loddiswell
Avon and Harbourne
Dartmouth and Kingswear
East Dart
Kingsbridge East
Kingsbridge North
Salcombe and Malborough
South Brent
Totnes Bridgetown
Totnes Town
West Dart
Westville and Alvington

Torbay Unitary Authority:
Berry Head with Furzeham
Churston with Galmpton
St Marys with Summercombe